Jersey - 5 years old (Fostered in Columbia, SC)

Jersey - 5 years old (Fostered in Columbia, SC)

300.00

8/5/19: Jersey was hit by a car and has a horrible break to her leg. The cost to fix it is upwards of $5,000 - a significant amount to a rescue. There is a chance we might not be able to save her leg and amputation is expensive as well.

8/6/19: Update: Dr. Mike said Jersey did well in surgery. He had very little bone to work with where the tibia was broken, so one of the pins is straight into the knee. He said this site will not heal well and not to freak out. He will remove this pin first. He also the fixator is huge. It will be bandaged the first week. Hopefully she can come home mid-afternoon tomorrow! I’ll send pics.
Jersey should be going in for surgery shortly. Her surgery was postponed from yesterday due to two critical cases coming in after I dropped her off at CVETS. I should know how she’s doing by mid-morning. Please think good thoughts!!

8/12/19: Jersey is one of the sweetest girls you'll ever meet. She has been through so much in the past two weeks - hit by a car, waiting in shelter for legal stray hold to be up, stuck in an animal hospital, home to a new foster and back to the hospital for surgery. Through it all, she has given kisses and been gentle with all the people handling her. Not one growl or one snip despite tremendous pain and fear! Jersey has an external fixator on her leg to repair a badly broken tibia. Because of the location and multiple pieces broken, an internal plate was not an option. She will have it for about 8 weeks (we're on day 5 now). She has some wounds on the leg as well where we are battling infection. She's a strong girl and hopefully will get through this with flying colors!

Beyond the break, Jersey is in good health. She's a big girl (around 88 pounds) with the softest fur and ears. She loves for you to rub her and shows her appreciation with kisses. She loves a soft chair or sofa to lounge on and prefers to have one of her fur foster siblings nearby. She adores her humans. Jersey is not fond of the crate. She'll go straight in when you tell her but promptly proceeds to sing the song of her people when the door shuts and you walk away. Unfortunately, she has to be confined due to her injury, so we're working on this. She lives for snacks. Chewy, crunchy, cheesy, meaty... doesn't matter. Even ice cubes will do!

9/17/19: Jersey is recovering well from the surgery to repair her badly broken leg. We're six weeks post-op, and she'll be getting part of the external fixator off tomorrow. She's using the leg well but is getting sick of restricted activity!

Over the past several weeks, we've gotten to know a lot about this sweet girl. Jersey is GREAT company. She's 75% couch potato and 25% playful. Her favorite thing in the world is to eat. She's learned about toys recently and loves to gnaw on an antler or a Nylabone. Jersey has the softest fur. She adores to be petted and will lean on you to get more love. She prefers a comfy chair or couch to a dog bed. Can you blame her?? She is very protective of her humans and is not a big fan of strangers approaching. Once she knows who the new people are and that they mean no harm, she quickly becomes goofy and playful. She gets scared at first with new people and new situations. Jersey likes all dogs but is quietly the alpha. She does not like to share her food bowl or licks off a spoon for goodies. She respects the space of other dogs and she expects the same in return. She likes to curl up with the other pups (she lives with four Boxers) and play with them... just not to share snacks out of the same bowl or crowded space. JuJu Beans (Jersey's nickname) likes to help with the grill. She's an excellent supervisor when there's something tasty grilling!

Jersey is a strong girl and weighs around 85 pounds. Besides the healing leg, she's in good health and up-to-date on all of her shots. She's absolutely beautiful with her unique markings and big brown eyes. Her ideal home would be one that's relatively calm and with a decent sized fenced yard. Because of her size and strength, she would probably be better with older kids (like 12 and up). Although she's calm the vast majority of the time, she gets super excited when her people get home and could easily knock over little ones. (This excitement lasts about 5 minutes!)

10/3/19: Foster Jersey is on the mend! We’re almost two months out from her surgery and have two weeks to go before the external fixator in completely removed. Dr. Schlicksup at CVETS is pleased with Jersey’s progress and took two more pins out this week.

10/20/19: Hello, all! Jersey here. Foster Mom (FM) finally let me take over the computer. My leg is FINALLY healed! I got the metal thing off my leg last week, and it feels soooo much better. I'm using my leg well, and Dr. Schlicksup is very happy with my progress. FM says I have one more week of "restricted activity." But I'm ready to run zoomies and play with my fur siblings! Honestly, it's my leg it’s magically all back together. No lingering problems at all. WOW!

My foster parents always say what a cool, unique girl I am. I couldn't agree more! I'm a strong, regal gal with beautiful markings. I go from goofy to reserved, and I live for snacks. I tend to be the Queen Bee. I like everyone - human and canine - but on my terms. I don't like to be jumped on - unless I'm in the mood to play. Other dogs can get treats and eat beside me - but they can't take any of my goodies. I like to meet new people - but I might give a scary bark or seem intense at first (all while my nubby is going a 100 mph). I'm shy at first - but I'll be your best, most loyal companion in the whole wide world. I LOVE car rides, running errands and going for walks. I have soft fur that's great for petting. I prefer to sleep with my humans, either in the bed snuggling or on a nearby doggy bed. I frequently lounge in a pile on the sofa with the other Boxers in my house.

Because I'm so strong, I would do better with older kids or in a home without kids. It's not that I don't like kids or am snappy with them. But there's a good chance I would knock them down or scare them with my strength. I'm really not that big - 65 lbs (NOT 85 lbs as previously reported!). I'm all muscle though! I have a strong prey drive. (I WILL get a squirrel one day!) I don't think I'm suited to live with any small, yippy dogs or sneaky felines. That goes for things that scurry too, like hamsters or guinea pigs.

What else can I tell you? I'm well-trained and well-behaved. I have a second chance at an active life with my leg all better. I'm an awesome, loyal companion.

Add To Cart

Dog's Name: Jersey

Dog's Approximate Age: 5

Gender: Female

Dog's Size: Large (70lbs plus as adult and healthy weight)

Good with small dogs?: No

Good with big dogs?: Yes

Good with cats?: No

Good with kids?: Yes, older only

Any medical issues?: none - all better

Crate trained?: Yes

House trained?: Yes

Heartworms?: No